Praying Mantis – Prose by Joni Caggiano

Praying Mantis – Prose by Joni Caggiano

Some days, I unfasten the red and white box beneath the ruffles of my lover’s bed. Like the elusive breath of a monarch, a hit of new life. She spreads her moist and crinkly wings after hatching in her identifiable way. She must be patient and wait for delicate wings to dry while clinging to the small branch.

What holds me prisoner? Can’t I acquire the same? Anxiety overwhelms a plant called hope, which teases me still. The ceiling lingers like a twin, foreshadowing the roof that could plunge upon my pale body. Worrisome, the heart-shaped child born inside of me, her spirit calls, «Open me – your treasures,» I give in, as always, persistently. Her petite, white petals, jasmine, lie in a deep pocket of love, draping me in green finery, as a Praying Mantis gives thanks to God.

In the corner, I placed a golden key that holds your procrastination, how I dream of glossy moments and beseech just one more argument so that I could plead for clemency. A doll house cup wrapped in lace, a remembrance of your trail of morning coffee, a beloved indulgence. Strips of timeworn paper which I gave to you on our tenth anniversary. My flawed penmanship was scripted with great effort. The time it took for you to enfold and reveal all your favorite ways to share your love with me, I dried and placed in a sky-blue cloth made by silkworms for my ovation. Eyes tired, and tears dried like apricots, I lay jasmine and dreams of you, my husband within my treasures. Leftward was uniqueness, your laugh, and a braid of your flaxen hair. Strung through our set of rings that once did grace our hopeful bond for life.

*featured photo by Joni Caggiano

Author’s Bio

Joni Karen Caggiano is a internationally published author, poet, and photographer. A 2022 Pushcart Nominee for, “Old New is Not Old News,” The Short of It Publishing, she has been recognized for several accomplishments. She just recently released her debut poetry book, “One Petal at a Time” by Prolific Pulse Press LLC.

39 respuestas a “Praying Mantis – Prose by Joni Caggiano

Add yours

    1. So true this was when I was a teenager during that very difficult time indeed. Very much alone most of the time and just trying to get through college and out of my crazy home. Thank you for reading you certainly nailed it my friend. Hope your week is going well Nigel. Big hugs, Joni

      Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Nigel since you are so close and you and I both like to understand much of what is being said, here goes: As poets we mix time periods so this is about many important and learning experiences in life. My first love, and my divorce and the mixture of nature which is really about longing to belong but knowing better than to ever talk to other people. Thank you for your kind interest Nigel. All of my life has lead me to my knowing my husband of soon to be 28 years but we have known each other for 30 years and he is my best friend. 

      Sending love and hugs Nigel my dear friend. Mich and you and so many other dear friends have been tremendously kind in continuing to promote my book! Love from the both of us! 

      Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Hello dearest Dawn, thank you so much. I wanted you to know I am hoping by the end of the week to have your review soon. I have five poems to write so it might be tough but so worth the time. Your book «Ariel’s Song,» is so worth the time. A beautiful book my friend. Big hugs and thank you for reading me here on Hotel, I always appreciate it so much. 

      Le gusta a 1 persona

  1. I could really feel the passing of time, the questions and almost a regret about what we project and what we really have to deal with, but I have to tell you that I identify a lot and in certain situations with you my dear friend. What we can do is write, reflect without dwelling on… There are always two sides and open doors for rebirth… I believe that we are reborn every day and the greatest gratitude is to be here, now, being able to make this exchange and I am happy to read you. Thank you for this outburst. Look at the sky…. we are there!!! Kisses

    Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Indeed Miriam, prose especially is a way to reflect without upsetting myself as I truly have moved on. I believe poets pull from all parts of their lives and also blend parts together and can end up with a beautiful chocolate cake, which is truly what I do. Also so glad that it sounds like you have accomplished the same, what a tremendous feat, which makes me very happy!  Thank you so much for reading me here again my friend and staying in the moment as the day is important otherwise we would never have joy and I do. Big hugs and maybe some serious gut laughter – my husband makes me laugh so hard that I avoid fluids when he is on a roll because I have been choked so many times. 🤪

      Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Hi Robbie thank you so much for reading me here on Hotel and also I am so glad you enjoyed my work. Thank you so much. I don’t often seem to get a chance to get such an up close photograph of insects but I was grateful when I caught this praying mantis. I think they are so magnificent. Hope you week is full of blessings and wonder!

      Le gusta a 3 personas

    1. That is exactly right Cheryl. We always have that treasure chest with us and those memories push their heads up and it is hard not to think about things. Yes, especially for me the older I get the easier it is for me to move on as well from the bad. Hope you have a wonderful week and many blessings. ❤️

      Le gusta a 2 personas

Deja un comentario

Crea un blog o un sitio web gratuitos con WordPress.com.

Subir ↑

Diseña un sitio como este con WordPress.com
Comenzar