It Might Not Be Me by Julie Dickson

It Might Not Be Me by Julie Dickson

that you need right now…
I know she’s leaving you
you’re hurting
I’ve been there too

but I know firsthand
about rebounding
reaching out to the closest one
needing human touch

You need someone to listen
to hear all your stories and pain
it likely won’t make it better
just telling me about her

I’ll listen though
I’m a friend to you through this
please don’t confuse my friendship
with the love you need

You’ll hurt me too
bust through the scar tissue
that is my heart, sealed over
these many years

from the time I was the hurt one
I’ve been afraid for awhile
I can be your friend now
please don’t hurt me

AUTHOR’S BIO

Julie A. Dickson is a Push Cart nominee, former poetry board member, former coordinator of 100 Thousand Poets for Change, Guest editor of several publications and a seasoned poet. Her work appears in Ekphrastic Review, Misfit, Blue Heron Review and Hotel of Broken Hearts, among others. Dickson holds a BPS in Behavioral Science, advocates for captive elephants and shares her home with two rescued cats, Cam and Jojo. Her full length works are available on Amazon, the latest being, V»illage Girl: A Story in Verse» [Sunrise Press]

13 respuestas a “It Might Not Be Me by Julie Dickson

Add yours

Deja un comentario

Crea un blog o un sitio web gratuitos con WordPress.com.

Subir ↑

Diseña un sitio como este con WordPress.com
Comenzar