Emmett Till, Emmett Till, Emmett Till by Joni Caggiano

Emmett Till, Emmett Till, Emmett Till by Joni Caggiano



sun shimmers in dark eyes, life stirs, myriad of dreams
a princely smile creates unstoppable joy
fourteen-years happy, bout to be in city’s ugly schemes

a beautiful child who could sing, dance, whistle and play
his mama’s tender nurturing hand
touching suit, told him, stay close to cousins, don’t stray

Emmett’s stunning mom felt dread in her yellow floral dress
Emmett boards a train to mississippi
enthusiastic, going from chicago in his handsome sunday best

after meeting his cousins, they go for candy at grocery store
he did what his mama told him, be careful
come real late, locals hammering, at Emmett’s uncle’s door


ma’am – he the one who dares to speak today in store to you
yes, she lies, tells a wild story about Emmett
woman says yes, they drag innocent Emmett, if only he knew


they haul this beautiful soul, who sets values high, this boy
black, a shroud of death, Emmett, got no luck
appalling woman with a premeditated tongue told a big story

Emmett’s white flawless teeth gone, abating this boy’s smile
just like sunday, cut all corn from the hard cob
things did to Emmett, who was a mothers-child were sick, vile


trees cry leaves bleed, drain sap, Emmett’s screams kill oaks
mutilated, shot after Emmett’s screams stop
into tallahatchie river flung by bigoted narrow-minded folks

Mamie Till, strong, insist on open casket, wants the world to see
50,000 come, only thing recognizable was his dad’s ring
Emmett Till’s face gone, his life too, now comes the guilty plea


ignorant town folk, white people just long to put on a show
once handsome, smart, Emmett just went for a visit
town hankers after a lynching, white folk in charge, you know


tell the true story, malignant lady in that local grocery store
didn’t help Emmett Till, just beginning a bright life
face beat to shreds, mutilated body washing up on that shore
cotton fields didn’t grow that summer to look like pale white snow
chuck-wills-widow, and goatsuckers did not sing or dance
creamy white blossoms of great magnolias turned black, hung low


never forget Emmett Till that first night there, kind soul beaten
God knows Emmett Till – his family knows Emmett Till
his face a reminder just how fierce was their hate
summer night, town folks felt like a lynching, Emmett’s fate


by the way, did you know,


white men used black babies for alligator bait*

Note:

“https://www.lawyerscommittee.org/president-biden-signs-emmett-till-antilynching-act-into-law/”
(Washington, DC) – Today, President Joseph Biden signed into law the Emmett Till Antilynching Act, legislation which finally declares lynching a federal hate crime. The legislation is named in honor of Emmett Till, a young Black teenager who was kidnapped and brutally tortured, all for allegedly whistling at a white woman. Yet, while Emmett was murdered by white supremacists in 1955, acts of racist violence continue to tear across America today. According to the most recent FBI data, reported hate crimes hit a two-decade high in 2020.

*THE WESTSIDE GAZETTE
Black Press USA
“Some people in the South claim white men used Black babies as alligator bait in the swamps of Louisiana and Florida. They used the babies to lure large alligators with human flesh and blood during the era of slavery. They kidnapped the babies, skin them alive, and drop them into the swamp waters. In 1923, a publication in Times Magazine reported from Chipley, Florida that Black babies were being used as alligator bait. On June 3, 1908, the Washington Times reported that a zookeeper at the New York Zoological Garden baited alligators with pickaninnies. Pictures, postcards, and other trinkets were sold to commemorate this evil, dark practice.”

Author’s Bio

Joni Karen Caggiano is a internationally published author, poet, and photographer. A 2022 Pushcart Nominee for, “Old New is Not Old News,” The Short of It Publishing, she has been recognized for several accomplishments. Her debut poetry book, “One Petal at a Time” will be released in June 2024 by Prolific Pulse Press LLC.


41 respuestas a “Emmett Till, Emmett Till, Emmett Till by Joni Caggiano

Add yours

  1. Sombre, painful, sad but necessary poetry. Joni. The murder of Emmet Till was such a grotesque stain on America’s conscience. It’s racist history cannot be ignored and no attempts to suppress the information with succeed.
    Congratulations on that little note at the bottom . I look forward to your launch in June. 👏👏💜🙏

    Le gusta a 1 persona

    1. Thank you for the comment Nigel. It is very hard to write about this and even harder to believe it really happened. The mother was so brave and strong. I cry for her and know that she was glad to see those 50,000 people that came out to walk by and pay their respects to her son in that tiny little town. I appreciate your reading as I know it is easier to turn a blind eye to this kind of horror. I am grateful to Mich for being willing to publish this piece today to remind people of the horrendous suffering that has taken place and injustices that continue to occur especially to people of color. I hope know one ever forgets Emmett Till or what his family went through. Thank you for your comment Nigel.

      Le gusta a 3 personas

      1. This is a very important piece of poetry that has to be published for our younger generation to understand the barbaric acts created againts men of colors in the past – that are, sadly still happening at present.

        How many more Emmitt Till do we need to lose to realize that we are all human being born as one, regardless of race and color.

        Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Today, we remember Martin Luther, and sadly though years after his death, discrimination is still prevalent not only in the United States but all over the world.

      The story of Emmett Till is just one of the many barbariv acts committed because of racial discrimination.

      I thank you Joni for taking on the courage to write this. I am honored to publish your poem.

      Me gusta

  2. This is poetry that shakes you to the very core. Brutal, unyielding, horrific, and gut-wrenching. And it’s all true…and what an unforgivable sin this is on America’s conscience. I’ve read about Emmett Till, but even so, I learned even more through reading your poem and the accompanying notes. I have no words to describe the horror. I try to put myself in this young kid’s shoes and it’s impossible to imagine human beings visiting this kind of evil on another human. And this racist hatred still survives. I had no knowledge regarding black babies being used as alligator bait. The savagery of the human soul appears endless. I marvel at the strength of Emmett’s mother insisting on an open-casket funeral so people could see what really happened to her son…and yet, here we are, decades later, and not much has really changed.

    I’ve lived in the American South at a couple of points in my life (South Carolina, Louisiana), and I always felt there was something «off» about those places even in the 21st century. Remnants of past hatred still linger in the rancid minds and brackish hearts of many white people who populate the South and Midwest. Not all people are racist, but it only takes one to destroy someone’s life.

    This is necessary reading for every citizen of this country, Joni. You have my complete respect for your fearlessness in writing this piece. Would that everyone were courageous enough to stand up and speak out and change the world for the better.

    Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. I agree with you Mike, not all people are racist and it only takes one to destrou someone’s life. Racial discrimination is felt by all men of colors…even us Asian get the hate too for no reason at all.

      And i thank Joni for writing thia brave piece. Thank you too Mike for coming over and reading and being with us on this awareness campaign.

      Le gusta a 2 personas

      1. Thanks again Mich for honoring me with writing the piece for today for the celebration of Dr. Martin Luther King, his birthday and his life. I appreciate you always wanting to bring awareness of important issues Mich. Many blessings, and much respect, Joni

        Le gusta a 2 personas

    2. Thank you for the long and beautifully written comment my kind friend. I appreciate everyone reading today especially because it is hard to read this kind of thing. You are right Mike – I couldn’t have said it better:

      «I try to put myself in this young kid’s shoes and it’s impossible to imagine human beings visiting this kind of evil on another human. And this racist hatred still survives. I had no knowledge regarding black babies being used as alligator bait. The savagery of the human soul appears endless. I marvel at the strength of Emmett’s mother insisting on an open-casket funeral so people could see what really happened to her son…and yet, here we are, decades later, and not much has really changed.»

      You are so right about things not changing, history continues to repeat itself.
      I wanted this piece to be straight forward and no metaphors or language to skate around the horror of this nightmare. That is what we find ourselves doing as poets, that is what makes us good at our gift, we can take a subject and keep the attention of each other and see something beautiful or be pulled into something that makes us forget our own set of problems for a moment, but there are some things that we just can’t make sound good no matter what we do. I worked on this piece for over a month. I wanted it to say exactly what they had done to that beautiful and intelligent 14 year old who everyone like where he was from and he was a good boy. He just wanted to go get candy from the local store. I use to ride my bike down the dirt road to get candy from the store all the time as a kid. I could have made someone mad and ended up dead. What is the difference, there is none. Big hugs to you and thank you for the gracious comment on my site as well. Mich was very kind and so was Juan for letting us post this piece. Mich is about not skating around the truth too, as is Juan. Can’t wait to read you again in the magazine Mike. It is always an enormous treat to read you. Blessings, hugs and love Mike, Joni

      Le gusta a 3 personas

    1. Thank you so much Tim, I especially appreciate your reading it because you know it is true. I know it was too hard for some people to read it. I understand that too. Some people have had so much pain they can’t bear anymore. I know you served our Country so you have had your share of pain my friend. Thank you for reading. Tomorrow I will see what you have been up to. Hope the family is all doing well. Sending you a big hug an my love. Joni

      Le gusta a 3 personas

    1. Maria thank you for reading, it is not easy to do. I know I cried for days after I saw the movie, «Till» on Netflix. As long as bigotry and racism continues to be such an enormous part of the violence, cruelty and inhumanity that we see in our world STILL today it has to be something we bring to people’s attention in a raw way. So thank you for reading again and for Mich being willing to go to extra lengths to get permission (due to contents) and even posting a song written for and about the memory of Emmett Till, I am grateful and to Juan as well. Blessings to you Maria and thanks for your kind comment too. Love and hugs, Joni

      Le gusta a 3 personas

    1. Bianca thank you so much for reading my friend. I appreciate it very much. I know it is something raw and physically hurts the heart to read. So thank you. I am brought to my knees when I think about the mother’s pain and the strength she had to do what she did and the difference it made. The Civil Rights Movement went into full swing after that. Here is another shocking fact, the Emmett Till Anti-lynching Law was made into law in 2022 by President Joe Biden. I am glad it is a law, but wasn’t it already a crime to kill an innocent boy who wanted a piece of candy. Just Shocking! Have an amazing and blessed week my friend, love and hugs, Joni

      Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Thank you so much for reading me here Dawn on Hotel it means a lot. I know it wasn’t easy to read and it sort of stays and lingers for a long time too, so thank you, truly. I force myself to watch many well done documentaries and movies about the horrors of our world because I feel it is important never to forget these things. Besides history just keeps repeating itself anyway. As it is people are still being judged and killed simply because of the color of the lining of their insides. Our skin keeps us from losing fluids as you know being a nurse. It serves a very important physical purpose but God loves color and imagine if the world only were in just one color. Emmett Till was too beautiful, I honestly think that was behind part of the motivation for killing him. He was such a gorgeous young boy and the killers didn’t like that. Blessings, hugs and love, Joni

      Le gusta a 3 personas

      1. I’m a realist, not an idealist, Joni. We both understand that evil people exist in the world. It’s the people who don’t understand who are always wishing the world was a different place. We all wish that! Keep educating people with your powerful words!

        Le gusta a 3 personas

  3. It is so sad to read about racism and the cruelty of it all. Unfortunately, in my country, we can also share many of these stories that’s so horrific, and relates to these horrible atrocities. Thank you Joni for this touching and descriptive piece of poetry. You are gifted and always beautifully connects emotions and feelings to us the reader. ❤️

    Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Henrietta thank you so much for reading. I know it must have been hard for you to read. I had a friend from Seattle that moved to her grandmother’s in South Africa and I am sure I am older than you my friend. She told me about things she saw and I am afraid I would have been killed if I would have lived there. Bad impulse control when I see injustices ( I will write about that soon) I would have likely gotten myself into trouble. We don’t choose where we are born and you are not responsible for those atrocities, when people are holding guns, including the relatives of Emmett Till. Their children and the uncle and aunt would have been killed as well. What purpose would that have served. Just more funerals. Henrietta you have a beautiful heart and I am sure where ever you are kindness radiates from you as it does from your writing. Hugs and love my friend, Joni

      Le gusta a 3 personas

  4. Oh my Joni, like a Master Artist you painted such a vivid picture of racial, injustice and cruelty of the human race. How sad this was repeated all over when I was growing up, a little privileged white girl, living up North but I was so moved by your humanity, putting a boy a mother behind another horrible statistic of those brutal times. It was hard to read, but I didn’t stop. You gave this child some love he didn’t get back in those days. Powerful and just a reminder of what a short time ago, these murders were accepted as «the way it was»

    Le gusta a 1 persona

Deja un comentario

Blog de WordPress.com.

Subir ↑

Diseña un sitio como este con WordPress.com
Comenzar