In The Dying Light by Nigel Byng

In The Dying Light by Nigel Byng


He is holding the old kerosene lamp, and I am cradling the smoke-tinged shade he had asked me to hold so carefully. I didn’t even wish to breathe for fear I would drop it.


He was refilling the oil font, setting the wick, grinding his teeth. Hands moving methodically, gracefully. His furrowed brow, balding head, grey eyes, and speckled mustache are the only features I can make out. I could smell the tobacco on his shirt, and the white rum on his breath.


He strikes a match and the glow illuminates the space between us. He lights the wick and waits for the flame to spread across the damp cotton.
“Alright. Set the shade in place gently.” He instructs me.


My little hands shake and he guides them between the decorative clasps and the lamp is set.


‘Adjust the wick, Mikhailov.”


I turn the little brass disk at the side and the room brightens, a halo forming above our heads. He is there, smiling. The little moles under his eyes form the constellation of Orion’s Belt. His skin glistens in the heat of the warm Caribbean night. He grunts as he stands upright, pressing his hands against his thighs. He is getting old.
“Head back to bed son. You have school in the morning.”


Then he picks up the lamp and walks away. His ghostly shadow disappearing down the narrow hall, the halo following, sheltering his shadow in the dying light. The room is dark again. I am eight years old.


I don’t have many vivid memories of the old man anymore.


© Nigel Byng, 2024.

Author’s Bio

Nigel Byng is a freelance writer, living in the USA. He recently contributed to Happiness in Unexpected Places; an anthology of stories compiled by authors and media professionals from across the globe. His writing can be found on Signs of the Times Australia; MasticadoresIndia, or on his personal blog http://www.hytsdaily.com where he displays his love of fiction and poetry under his pen name, Jerome Kenrick.

58 respuestas a “In The Dying Light by Nigel Byng

Add yours

  1. These slice-of-life character studies–these moments froze in time–are compelling when handled deftly, and can convey mountains of information and miles of imagined backstory. That’s what you’ve done here, Nigel. In the brief span of a handful of sentences, you’ve brought this man to life, given him vivid features and mystique, provided a role for him in the reader’s mind and built an entire world around him. That takes talent, and you’ve achieved it. You’ve placed the reader right there during that dark night as the lantern is lit, and left us wondering where the man was going, what lay ahead for him, and when–or if–he’d return. And you’ve made us care about that little boy as he watches his father walk away into the night.  

    Brilliant stuff, Nigel. 😊👍

    Le gusta a 3 personas

    1. Thank you so much Mikey. When I’m writing, I tend to get into character. All my senses are heightened as I’m in that space. It was good to tap into that latent memory of my father. The scent of his cigarettes have always stayed with me. And his stained white vest, with the tiny burn holes in it from when ash fell on it. Thank you for this wonderful feedback my friend. 💜🙏

      Le gusta a 3 personas

    1. Thank you Dave. Oh yeah. The old man was meticulous about his tools and anything that was necessary to keep the household functioning. He taught me how to fix my bike at like 8/9 years old…but I was never allowed to touch his tools unless he was around lol. It was good to share this memory. Pleased that you enjoyed it.

      Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Thank you Aboli. It was really good to tap into this memory. I haven’t taught much about him over the years. But he was my best bud as a child. Spent a lot of time together. As I grew older I learned he had his own demons. But he was still my old man. Happy that you enjoyed it. 💜🙏🤗

      Le gusta a 2 personas

  2. Dearest Nigel, thank you so much for this beautiful piece of writing. As many others have mentioned you build an entire scene with few words. This lovely piece of prose touched my heart and I knew immediately you were talking about your father. I can imagine you as a young boy, hands shaking afraid of making a mistake, one can smell the scents you bring to us, tobacco and rum, I am very familiar with that smell. There was a moment, a connection on that night, perhaps a moment when a father and son felt and showed love, if even for a moment. Beautifully done Nigel.

    «I turn the little brass disk at the side and the room brightens, a halo forming above our heads. He is there, smiling. The little moles under his eyes form the constellation of Orion’s Belt. His skin glistens in the heat of the warm Caribbean night. He grunts as he stands upright, pressing his hands against his thighs. He is getting old.
    “Head back to bed son. You have school in the morning.”

    Thank you for sharing something so precious, one of so few memories of you and «the old man.»

    Many blessings and so much love from both of us. I got to read your piece this morning while Scott listened and he sends his love to his bro bro. ❤️🪔

    Le gusta a 2 personas

  3. Oh Joni.. nice to hear you’re feeling a little more energized this morning. I’m always happy when you and Scott get to read my literary offerings. Your feedback always gets me fired up. Give my love to your partner in crime. Big Day Tomorrow for the Caggiano household. 🎉🎉🎉

    Le gusta a 2 personas

Deja un comentario

Crea un blog o un sitio web gratuitos con WordPress.com.

Subir ↑

Diseña un sitio como este con WordPress.com
Comenzar