A Woman’s Agony by Bella Coronel

A Woman’s Agony by Bella Coronel

Naturally, a woman needs a lot of time to get ready,
but it has gotten easier recently.
I wear my sadness like a T-shirt.
I put on my loneliness like socks and my anxiety like pants.
Anyone can smell the scent of my depression
like fabric softener. But my perfume smells better,
its fragrance is a blend of hate with a hint of grief.
I flaunt every shining, luxurious pretenses
similar to diamonds and jewels,
while my insecurities are concealed like undergarments.
And in nudity, I expose inadequacy.

Should I live my life like a cashmere sweater in the summer?
To suffocate in my self-doubts,
to consider vulnerability as a flaw,
I am just a human with a lot of weaknesses.
All I wanted to wear the most
is a smile without any ounce of sorrow
without the fear of uncertainty about tomorrow.

Oh, how I wish we all had a closet full of happiness.

—Bella Coronel

*featured image from Pexels

Author’s Bio

Bella Coronel is celebrated as the echoing voice of many broken hearts, portraying tales of life’s sorrows and promising beginnings.

She dreams of making her mark, one poem at a time.

Connect with Bella Coronel on Instagram and TikTok at @bellacoronelwrites, and on Facebook at Tacit Poetry by Bella Coronel.

17 respuestas a “A Woman’s Agony by Bella Coronel

Add yours

  1. Dear Bella, I enjoyed this piece so much, it makes my heart sing to see such young women writing such amazingly beautiful pieces filled with passionate metaphors, and the honest, raw, stanzas so impassioned they must be read. What a joy! Congratulations on your publication to Hotel and introduction to Michelle a brilliant editor, mentor and seeker of young and seasoned poetic and storytelling voices. BRAVO on your first piece.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

    1. Thank you so much, Miss Joni, for the heartwarming review of my first published poem here at Hotel. I am forever grateful to Miss Mich and honored to be part of this amazing publication. I hope to write more poems and improve each day. Here’s to more writing for all of us!

      Le gusta a 1 persona

Deja un comentario

Blog de WordPress.com.

Subir ↑

Diseña un sitio como este con WordPress.com
Comenzar